Scrounging Twat

Benefits-Street

The title to this blog might be a bit strong, but its what an anonymous person called me the other week on Twitter. They also said they’d reported me to the DSS as being a benefits cheat. The reason being that I went to the pub now and again. The thing is, there’s not a day goes by that I don’t feel guilty and a fraud for claiming benefits. The media has steadily been whipping the public into a seething frenzy at the feeloading, idle bastards who sit on their arses all day raking in thousands of pounds a year.

Its well documented in my previous blogs as to how I ended up claiming ESA and DLA benefit. Severe anxiety and depression led me to self-harming and a suicide attempt in August 2012. I had lost my job due to it and did not know what I was going to do. I was pointed in the direction of my local Citizens Advice Centre (now closed due to cuts) where they listened to me, filled out the forms for me and this might sound dramatic….saved my life.

To my genuine surprise I was awarded the benefits, I also had to sit the dreaded ATOS test. From the start of receiving these benefits I’ve felt guilty, not worthy and yes, a scrounging twat. Since the age of 15 I’ve always worked, done numerous jobs from bar work to bus driver to working 10yrs in a call centre. I managed the depression throughout most of my working life and rarely took time off sick, but the breakdown came in 2012 and nearly 18 months on, I’m still recovering.

Not too long ago ‘benefits’ were know as Social Security payments and I’d always paid National Insurance. I once said to a friend about how I felt claiming benefits he told me that National Insurance was just that ‘Insurance for the Nation’ and also Social Security is ‘Security for the the people’ I’d paid my contributions and was entitled. This still doesn’t sit easy with me and you’ll find its the same with 1000’s of folk who’ve found themselves in my position. I still feel now that I have to justify my reasons for claiming and its my aim to try to get back into work this year.

So there you have it, the diary of a ‘Scrounging Twat’ some may read this and start spouting about to ‘get off my arse and get a job instead of claiming their hard earned money they pay in tax’….I suppose they’re entitled to their opinion, but as the media continue their tirade against those on Social Security and continue to chase votes through cuts I probably won’t be entitled to claim for much longer.

3 thoughts on “Scrounging Twat

  1. As noodles says. More, claiming disability benefits isn’t the walk through the park that this government and some some press portray. The burden of proof is on the claimant and the medical professionals that support them. They are very hard to get and often its the medical professionals that support them that suggest the benefits. It’s stressful and tough.

    The benefits are there to help peeps live a normal, productive and active a life as possible. If you have a disability, that often involves other people and support services, and they don’t come cheap or free.

    For the record, DLA and PIP continue whether you work or not. It isn’t means tested.

  2. Pingback: Scrounging Twat | nearlydead

Leave a comment